Nubblies.net Forums - Wtf Did You Google To End Up Here?

Nubblies.net Forums - Wtf Did You Google To End Up Here? (http://www.nubblies.net/forums/index.php)
-   General Chat (http://www.nubblies.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=67)
-   -   Investmenting Options/Suggestions... (http://www.nubblies.net/forums/showthread.php?t=16585)

Nathan 01-29-2008 10:45 PM

Investmenting Options/Suggestions...

Im currently in a Finance class, and a lot of what we are learning about is really making me want to start investing money. Im only 21 years old, im a college student, and work part-time, so I dont really have a lot of cash I can lock up into an investment. Whatever I do, I want it to be something I can handle on my own (I dont want to pay someone to invest for me), and it be something I can do in very small increments of cash.

Everyday when I come home I throw all my change into this jar to be rolled later. I was thinking that for starters I can start converting all of that change into investments. Its not money I rely on, and when I cash it all in I always end up blowing it on something stupid. I was thinking about possibly buying government bonds with the change money, since I can easily do this myself via the internet, and I can buy bonds in increments as small as $25. They can be cashed in at any time after a year, and the only penalty is the last 3 months interest is lost. They continue to mature for 30 years, earning 3-4% interest annually. Its not much, but its way better then what my change would be getting sitting in my room.